7/8/08
Zuricalaw.com v. Wheres Kenny
Players present and game grades
Zuricalaw.com (C+) - major hindrance caused by his torn calf muscle of a week ago.
Betancourt (B-) - once we hit the good basket, mike started hitting shots, but it was too little too late
Joe H (B-) Made some nice plays offensively and defensively in the second half, but again it wasnt enough to stave off defeat
Tanzosh (B) Kept us in the game throughout. Played huge, but jinxed himself by proclaiming he is a 100% free throw shooter
Josh S (supersub) (B-) Earned his ten day contract, played with hustle and tenacity, made a few sloppy plays, but it was his first organized game since 99
Ahmad (DNP) - had a date with Ashley Dupre
Anicito (DNP) - Was out in strong island fishing
Noel (DNP) - Went 2-4 in his slow pitch underhand beer drinking full contact softball league
"the whole is greater than the sum of its parts" - zuricalaw.com
As I spoke to some of you guys about last night the similar characteristic of every basketball game I've lossed in my mens league career is very easy to explain. When we have our full squad or at least a sub, we win 9 out of 10. When we are down a guy or 2 is the only time we lose, its as simple as that. Obviously we all have other things to do so I know full attendance at every game is never possible and I've accepted that after years of frustration, but it still sux when we lose to a squad that would have been destroyed if we had anicitos rebounding, ahmads intensity and noeys threes. It wouldn't have been close.
And that's no offense to the five strong we had there. The simple fact is that a few of us, me mostly, after my injury, needed a blow. They were able to trot out 2 fresh legs every few minutes and we were running on fumes at the end. It didn't help that the gym was about 900 degrees.
As for the game itself, you know I hate recapping losses, but I'll give a quick word. Josh stepped in and gave us huge and quality minutes on super short notice. This game really came down to hustle and shooting. In the first half, the blue squad shot on their good rim and hit almost everything while we couldn't hit the broad side of a barn. In the second half, we switched places and their shots were just as off as ours. However, we were too far behind to make it all the way back. We valiantly cut the lead to 5 with 2 minutes left, but a few missed free throws and sloppy play did us in.
I honestly hope we get to see this team again as there is no way they should be sitting at work right now thinking they are better than us. Its simply not true, with our three amigos present, we win that game by double digits. Again, I'm not trying to make an excuse, but that game just left a bad taste in my mouth.
Thanks again to Mr. Scher for coming down and helping out.
So, it looks like we wont be going undefeated but I'll take another 7-1 record. Unfortunately, there will now be no NOBU due to the loss, sorry mike.
Same time next week, lets avenge this loss.
Zurica out
Wednesday, July 9, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
From Noel:
My bad missing the game boys. I actually went 2 for 3 in my underhand beer drinking full contact softball game.
Post a Comment