Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Game 4 Recap

No grades. We played like complete crap. I am just going to write freely here, let my mind infuse my fingers, some of it may be incoherent, but here it is:

car ride, ahmad late again doesnt he know parking sucks uptown? UNC destroyed Nova and went on to win the national championship, thankfully Bergs understands the power of perfection. Wow, we really take for granted the beauty of the Verazzano bridge. cant believe how the wind blows off shore rd. Bergs tells Ahmad that he's proud of Nova and losing to the ultimate champs, verbatim from what i told him he was going to say. Talking about NBA draft (my favorite time of the year after Christmas). we pick up anthony from HQ, he tells us Oren does #2 with the door open, weird. no parking uptown like we already knew. Ahmad puts all our lives, and the lives of 6 cross-walkers in danger when he pull a half a u-turn to grab a spot on 1st ave and 90th, closest we've parked all year.

Wind blows dust in my face on the walk over, i was checking out the girls playing soccer then realized they were 9 years old. we start the game with Zurica on the bench, why does our point guard want to sit?? We're playing the red team, Cliff got his wish, thinking about his comments at the apartment, "im going for 30 tonight" my response "it would be nice if you said, im getting us a win tonight". We start the game slowly on both ends, not being able to score, letting them penetrate the middle, no one in our paint to contest the shot, we needed a guy like Tanzosh in the middle for this game. Can get quality looks, betancourt shadowed, we need to set screens for him, cliff does a good job attacking the basket but he is 0-2 from the free throw line, we're down 19-9. ahmad and anthony finally come in. we cant really make a run against this team. their two best players (#5 and fake #1) come out and they extended their lead to 12. wtf is going on right now, i feel like im on crazy pills.

second half, we're still down 10. i need to step up my intensity and throw my body around. why am i thinking about that gorgeous Indian girl who got on the Q train tonight after work? will i ever run into her again? and if i do, will i have the b's to say something? probably not. lets go mike, mix it up! i crash, i burn, i force a couple of shots in the paint, but im defended by weaker guys i know i can score. cliff for three, ahamad for three, i wish these guys would just go to the hoop. how did ahmad just miss a wide open lay-up on the left side when he makes tough ones in the paint. ant comes in, we cut the lead down to 6 with 12 minutes to play. anthony's comment "see what happens when i come in". bergs nails a big three. josh is playing a solid game. cliff saves a rebounds and burns one of our time-outs, ant throws the ball away on the ensuing possession. what a waste of a time-out. poty is scary to look at. i dont know who is worse, poty or the girl doing the clock. does anyone else notice the creepy old guy that stares at us? who is that? Marybeth is here?? betancourt is not getting open. right now cliff is literally 1-14 from the line. terrible!! i come out for the last 7 minutes, dont know why. doesnt really matter. betancourt didnt get the ball within the last three minutes when he's our best shooter. i dont have an answer that either. we looked like crap. we're 1-3. we have to pick it up.

car ride home, ahmad misses josh's exit, josh tells us he has a rooftop pool, we have to go when weather gets warmer. bergs wants to go to sty town to play ball, im down. drop off bergs and show cliff a greek place thats open all night for dessert. he's excited.

No comments: